16 Point Agreement Of Nagaland

3. The Governor of Nagaland: a) The Indian President appoints a governor for Nagaland, who will be delegated the executive powers of the Nagaland government. It will be based in Nagaland. As the only living signatory to the agreement, Jamir said that the NPC has always strived to create a favourable political environment in the region in order to clearly and unambiguously underline the basis of the Nagas` legitimate demands and protracted political aspirations before the Indian government. 13. Consolidation of the adjoining areas of Naga: the delegation wished that, in order to be recorded in the minutes, “the Naga leaders felt that other Nagas, who live in adjacent areas, should be able to enter the new state. They were informed, on behalf of the Indian government, that Articles 3 and 4 of the Constitution were intended to expand the territory of each state, but it is possible for the Indian government to make a commitment in this regard at this stage.┬áThe solemn and unanimous resolution of the NPC is to save the hopes and aspirations of the Naga people, he said, adding that the agreement was conceived and drawn up with great caution and prudence taking into account all the societal and societal realities that prevail to serve as the basis for an honourable solution to the Naga question. Following the 16-point agreement signed between the Naga People`s Convention and the Indian government, the NHTA became a full-fledged state of Nagaland on 1 December 1963. It was the 16th state of the Indian Union. However, special arrangements were made for the Tuensang district at the time, as it was relatively late, that the district would have a regional council with the vice-commissioner as president for a period of ten years. The Regional Council also appointed tribal representatives as members of the Nagaland Legislative Assembly. There was a Tuensang Ministry of Affairs in the ranks of the appointed members of the region.

It was not until 1973, at the end of the ten-year period, that the regional council was abolished and the population of Tuensang District began to participate in the elections to the Nagaland Legislative Assembly with the rest of the state. Out of a total of 60 seats in the Assembly, there were 20 MLAs from the region. Later, the three districts of Nagaland were reclassified into seven districts, tuensang being divided into two districts: Tuensang and Mon. Tuensang was more widely shared in 2004, when Longleng and Kiphire made two of its district sub-divisions in their own right. (ii) The Naga court (for the whole of Nagaland) in cases tried under customary law.